Butcher The Bar Announces First Release in Three Years, “For Each A Future Tethered”

Manchester-based artist Butcher The Bar (aka Joel Nicholson) has announced his first new material in three years in the form of sophomore LP, For Each A Future Tethered, set for release via Morr Music on June 21.

Butcher The Bar gave us insight into his deepest  thoughts three years ago with his debut, Sleep At Your Own Speed, an album that dealt with the uncertainties of growing up – recorded in the intimate light of his bedroom. The first taste of his folk-pop was warmly received, featured in a number of blog playlists for the track “Leave this Town.”  Since then Joel has moved into a whole house in Manchester, the rooms of which must be sunny and flooded with light, for the latest songs, with all their delicate melodies, conjure up images of sparkling particles of dust dancing in the sunlight.

In For Each A Future Tethered he shares his personal story with wispy serene vocals and creativearrangements.  There is a wider range of musical accompaniment, with the inclusion of trumpets, clarinets, harmoniums and pianos, resulting in a richer, more developed sound. Some songs – like the confident lullaby “Cradle Song” and “Blood For The Breeze” could be folk standards, while others set new standards for folk music. The music is somewhat reminiscent of label mates Seabear, but his earnest songwriting is true to the  tradition of great songwriters like Nick Drake, Paul Simon andElliott Smith.

For Each A Future Tethered Track Listing:

1. Sign Your Name
2. Bobby
3. Cradle Song
4. Giant
5. Alpha Street West
6. Blood For The Breeze
7. Silk Tilts
8. Sin So Sweet
9. X
10. Cornered To The Cusp
11. Lullaby